A Case Against Coffee

I took place in the Boston Tea Party that helped over throw the tyrannical king. Granted it was two hundred thirty-one years late, but I when I threw my Lipton tea bag into Boston Harbor I was doing my patriotic duty to stand up against evil doers everywhere. After the American Colonies revolted in 1773 British citizens showed their patriotism buy drinking less tea, and in effect drinking more coffee. As the years went buy and war effected the involved economies, both the British and Americans curtailed their consumption of both caffeinated drinks. In more recent times America drinks more coffee than any other country, where most other regions prefer tea. I love coffee so much that I could actually see forking over the $800 for a Francis Francis sometime down the road. My increasing consumption of this dietary staple has aided in my inability to sleep through out the night. I knew that there was physical addiction when I could no longer function in the morning without it, when my co-workers could tell I hadn’t had my daily pot of coffee by my mood. It was then that I decided to revert back to the teas that I had so long drank.
Like anything mass produced I was turned off by the blandness of the tea bags that my grandfather steeped every day at noon. It’s no wonder he loaded up his cup with so much sugar and cream. Even the better brand teas like Stash still tasted stale and dry to my pallet. Luckily there is a place not to far from us where they sell spices and loose leaf teas at very low prices. Teas and spices are another example of how our society has traded quality for convinience over the years. And sadly as time goes on, the number of people that remember or even know good quality will slowly fade. At World Merchants in Seattle the owner travels the world buying spices and teas direct and selling them here at home. I feel that it is in your best interest to go out and find a similar store near you. The immediate difference you will notice is the price. In the past we have saved as much as 90% on spices. And once you get home and try your new teas and spices, you will never go back the supermarket isle again.

2 responses to “A Case Against Coffee

  1. The USA drinks no where near the leading amount of coffee. Check your facts agianst the Natiional Coffee Drinking Trends (New York: National Coffee Association of the U.S.A., 2005)

  2. The USA drinks no where near the leading amount of coffee. Check your facts agianst the Natiional Coffee Drinking Trends (New York: National Coffee Association of the U.S.A., 2005)

Leave a Reply

